Day 117 – 27Apr2011 – Fountain Bamboo Flower

Project 365 HG – Fountain Bamboo Flower.

Day 117 – As I was wandering the Gardens taking photos for my weekly Bloom Report, I noticed blossoms on the Fountain Bamboo (Fargesia nitida). It was a state of bloom I had neither witnessed nor photographed before today… always exciting for me!

The Fountain Bamboo, like many bamboos, blooms very seldom – in fact, about every 100 years – and often dies afterwards! Ours has been in it’s “bloom period” for a couple years now so we’ve been keeping an eye on it. But I had never witnessed it looking quite like this… lucky day!

Leave a Reply

